General Information

The Republic of Colombia received its name in honor of Christopher Columbus, the explorer who discovered the Americas. Because Colombia is located in the northwest corner of South America it has coasts on both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. It also has jurisdiction of a section of the Amazon River in the Amazonian trapeze. For this reason, Colombia has been called “Home of Three Seas.”

Colombia is bordered by Venezuela in the east, Brazil in the southwest, Peru and Ecuador in the south and Panama in the northeast. The capital is Bogotá, which makes up the District Capital, and it is also the capital
of the Cundinamarca department. Bogotá is a metropolitan area with a population of 9 million. The city is divided into 20 localities and is the fourth most populated and important city in South America. The National Government’s headquarters is located in the city as well.

The name Bogotá originates from the indigenous word Bacata, the name of the capital of Zipas, which signifies “fenced off from the farmland”. The population has also received the nicknames Muequeta (“land of farming”) and Funza (“powerful man”).

Extension 1.141.748 km². of land;
928.660 Km² of martime area
Population 43.834.115 inhabitants
Organization 32 departments and one Distrcit Capital (Bogota), also the Tourist
and Cultural District of Cartagena de Indias, the Tourist and Cultural and
Historical district of Santa Marta, and the Special Industrial and Port District of
Language Spanish, however in San Andres and Providencia English is spoken,
additionally 64 dialects of the indigenous tribes exist
Religion There is freedom of religion however the majority is Catholic
Currency Peso
Economic Alliances - Comunidad Andina de naciones (with Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia and Ecuador) - Grupo de los Tres (with Mexico and Venezuela) - Sistema Economico Latinoamericano, Sela, confirmed by 25 other countries, Pacto de Cooperacion Amazonia